Find answers to DMV Practice Permit test questions for your Driver's License, Learner's Permit, Motorcycle License, or Commercial License tests.

If you are driving a vehicle at night, dim your lights by switching to low-beams before you are ____ feet from a vehicle coming toward you.

Question: If you are driving a vehicle at night, dim your lights by switching to low-beams before you are ____ feet from a vehicle coming toward you.
A. 200
B. 300
C. 400
D. 500

Click here to know the Answer

500

If you are driving a vehicle at night, dim your lights by switching to low-beams before you are 500 feet from a vehicle coming toward you.

The best rule for fog is ___________.

Question: The best rule for fog is ___________.
A. to downshift to a low gear
B. to use headlights
C. to avoid driving
D. none of the above

Click here to know the Answer

to avoid driving

The best rule for fog is to avoid driving.

California law states that you must drive with your headlights on from ____ minutes after sunset until ____ minutes before sunrise.

Question: California law states that you must drive with your headlights on from ____ minutes after sunset until ____ minutes before sunrise.
A. 20; 30
B. 30; 30
C. 40; 30
D. 50; 30

Click here to know the Answer

30; 30

California law states that you must drive with your headlights on when you drive from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes after sunrise.

If you are following another vehicle at night, switch to low-beams when you get closer than ___ feet.

Question: If you are following another vehicle at night, switch to low-beams when you get closer than ___ feet.
A. 200
B. 300
C. 400
D. 500

Click here to know the Answer

300

If you are following another vehicle at night, switch to low-beams when you get closer than 300 feet.

You must provide evidence of financial responsibility when you _______________.

Question: You must provide evidence of financial responsibility when you _______________.
A. renew the registration of a motor vehicle
B. are cited for a traffic violation
C. are involved in any traffic collision
D. all of the above

Click here to know the Answer

all of the above

You must provide evidence of financial responsibility to the DMV when you renew the registration of a motor vehicle, as well as to a peace officer if you are cited for a traffic violation or are involved in any traffic collision.

If you are involved in a collision, you should ________________.

Question: If you are involved in a collision, you should ________________.
A. stop and see if anyone is hurt
B. if anyone is hurt, call the CHP
C. report it to the DMV if the damage is greater than 750 dollars or if someone is hurt or killed
D. all of the above

Click here to know the Answer

all of the above

If you are involved in a collision, you should: stop and see if anyone is hurt. If anyone is hurt, call the CHP. Report the collision to the DMV if the damage is greater then $750 or if someone is hurt or killed.

The minimum amount of auto insurance in California is $____ for a single death or injury, $____ for multiple deaths or injuries, and $____ for property damage.

Question: The minimum amount of auto insurance in California is $____ for a single death or injury, $____ for multiple deaths or injuries, and $____ for property damage.
A. 25,000; 10,000; 5,000
B. 3,000; 15,000; 5,000
C. 15,000; 30,000; 5,000
D. 10,000; 15,000; 20,000


Click here to know the Answer

15,000; 30,000; 5,000

The minimum amount of insurance in California is $15,000 for a single death or injury, $30,000 for death or injury to more than one person, and $5,000 for property damage.

If you do not have the proper insurance coverage, your driving privileges will be suspended for _________.

Question: If you do not have the proper insurance coverage, your driving privileges will be suspended for _________.
A. a month
B. six months
C. a year
D. two years


Click here to know the Answer

a year

If you did not have the proper insurance coverage, your driving privileges will be suspended for a year.

The speed limit when passing a school while children are present (unless otherwise posted) is ____________.

Question: The speed limit when passing a school while children are present (unless otherwise posted) is ____________.
A. 15 mph
B. 25 mph
C. 35 mph
D. 45 mph


Click here to know the Answer

25 mph

The speed limit when passing a school while children are present (unless otherwise posted) is 25 mph.

If you become angry or upset while driving, you should _____________.

Question: If you become angry or upset while driving, you should _____________.
A. control your emotions while continuing to drive
B. park the car and 'cool down'
C. speed up, so you can reach your final destination faster
D. roll down your windows and 'cool off'


Click here to know the Answer

park the car and 'cool down'

If you become angry or upset while driving, you should park the car and 'cool down'.

DMV Practice Permit Test Study Guide

You can find everything you need to pass your Learner's Permit or Driver's License test that includes more than driving test 500+ questions. Free and unlimited practice tests questions and answers. This Learners Permit Study Guide helps you to get ready for your Learners Permit (driving permit). Learners permit practice test prep includes traffic signs and signals questions almost identical to the real test. Get ready for your permit test today!

Please share your Test Question and Answers:

If you have gone through your Drivers Ed Course, review test and took DMV exam, and happen to remember a question and its correct answer, please scroll to the bottom of this page and use the form to add your comments.

This is not a cheat-sheet, just an aide to help you know what is the right answer.