Find answers to DMV Practice Permit test questions for your Driver's License, Learner's Permit, Motorcycle License, or Commercial License tests.

DMV Practice Permit Test Questions 3

Q-101 in NJ you must be at least___ years old to register a motor vehicle.
Ans. 17 years

Q-102 as you drive you must required to stop your vehicle:
[1] at an intersection with a stop sign
[2] where there is a red light, [3] when a traffic officer orders you to stop.

Q-103 as you drive, you must turn your headlight on:
[1] when you turn your wipers on
[2] one-half hour after the sun set.
[3] one-half hour before sunrise.

Q-104 you must yield to emergency vehicles:
Ans. When you hear or see a flashing red or blue light or hear a siren.

Q-105 you may drive on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal:
Ans. When directed to do so by a police officer.

Q-106 it is important to slow down:
[1] on narrow or winding roads
[2] at intersections or railroad crossing
[3] when the road is wet or slippery.

Q-107 vehicle stopping distances never depend on:
Ans. The time of the day.

Q-108 you needn’t stop your vehicle for a frozen dessert truck when:
Ans. On dual highway if you are on the other side of a safety island or median from the frozen desert truck.

Q-109 when driving on a major highway:
[1] stay alert,
[2] keep your eye moving,
[3] be ready to react to road hazards.

Q-110 when driving in a bad weather, increase the two second rule:
Ans. Up to three to four seconds.

Q-111 mvs may terminate your road test before it starts because:
[1] an unsafe vehicle,
[2] a center console or other equipment in your vehicle that obstructs the examiner’s access to the brake pedal.
[3] Missing set belts.

Q-112 the implied consent law is:
Ans. You agree to breathe test when under arrest and suspected of drinking

Q-113 if collision is possible, you should:
[1] chooses to hit something that will give way rather than something that’s rigid.
[2] Choose to hit something that’s standing still rather than something moving towards you.
[3] If you have to hit anything, try to make it a glancing blow or a sideswipe.

Q-114 if your windshield wipers stop suddenly during rain or snow you should:
[1] slow down.
[2] Roll down the driver’s side window and put your head out so you can see ahead.
[3] Brake and pull off the road.

Q-115 what tests must you pass to get your examination permit validated?
Ans. Eyesight and written tests.

Q-116 what is the telltale (signs) of a drunk driver?
[1] weaving between lanes.
[2] Driving slower than the normal traffic flow.
[3] Quick and sudden stop.

Q-117 a 5-ounce glass of wine contains the same amount of alcohol as:
Ans. One 12-ounce can of beer.

Q-118 to obtain a New Jersey driver’s license or driver id card, you must present these identifiers:
Ans. Proof of age, identify and that your presence in this country is authorized.

Q-119 if you are driving behind a school bus and it shows a flashing red light signaling a stop, you must:
Ans. Stop at least 25 feet away.

Q-120 how much time do you have to notify mvs after [a] an address change and [b] a name change?
Ans. For address change is one week and name change is two weeks.

Q-121 if you move to New Jersey, how long do you have to transfer your driver license?
Ans. For basic license, 60 days or until your out-of-state driver license expires, whichever is less, for a cdl, 30


Q-122 what is the hand given signals if your signals fails?
[1] to stop or slowing down - hand and arm downward, palm facing to rear.
[2] To right turn - hand and arm upward.
[3] To left turn - hand and arm straight out.

Q-123 how to park on uphill and downhill?
[1] if you are on downhill, turns your wheels toward the curb and shift into reverse gear or park.
[2] If you are on uphill, turn your wheel away from the curb and shift into low gear or park.
[3] If there are no curbs, turn your wheel towards the edge of the road, whether facing uphill or downhill.

Q-124 what are the rules for driving? When:
Ans. You must never drive faster than is safe for the conditions, no matter what the posted speed limit; judge your

speed control by type of road, weather, and traffic. Drive rs should slow down enough to see clearly and stop quickly in

traffic. It is important to slow down:
[1] on narrow or winding roads,
[2] at intersections or railroad crossings,
[3] on hills,
[4] where there are pedestrians or driving hazards,
[5] at sharp or blind curves,
[6] when the road is wet or slippery. If you cannot keep up with traffic because of car problems, pull off the road.

Q-125 what are the rules of passing (overtaking)?
Ans. Pass only when it is safe and when you can see far enough ahead to be sure there is no oncoming traffic. Watch

lane markings. If there are both solid lines and dashed centerlines, you may only pass when the dashed line on you side. You

must complete the pass before reaching another solid line on your side.

Q-126 what are the rules of yield?
Ans. For controlled intersections:
[1] At a 4-way stop, yield to the driver on the right if you both get there at the same time or to the driver already stopped

in the intersection.
[2] In the intersection, yield to the other driver who is already stopped.
[3] At the entrance to an intersection marked with a yield sign, slow down and yield to traffic on the main road or stop.
[4] At a traffic light when you want to turn left, yield to oncoming traffic and to pedestrians within the crosswalk.
For uncontrolled intersections:
[1] Stop for the traffic coming from right or left. Always the vehicle on the left should yield to the vehicle on the right.

Q-127 what is rule of turning right or left?
Ans. Always keep your car in the right lane for right turn and in left lane for left turn, then when you make a turn

take your car in to the center of nearest lane. Keep eyes on oncoming cars their rights to go is first.

Q-128 what is two seconds rule mean?
Ans. Since most people have trouble judging distances, the two-second rule may be easier to use and this can be usable at any speed. First of all choose some fixed object ahead of the car in front of you. The object may be sign or tree or any unmovable item, make sure while doing these your attention from driving is not distracted. As the car in front passes the object, begin counting two seconds by (one thousand-one, one thousand-two). If it takes at least two seconds before you pass the object, you should have enough distance for a sudden stop. But make sure this rule depends on your speed and the speed of the car in the front. During the bad weather, this should be increased to three or more seconds.

Q-129 where you should not park?
[1] on an interstate highway
[2] on a sidewalk
[3] in a bus stop zone
[4] in front of a driveway
[5] within an intersection
[6] within 10 feet of a fire hydrant
[7] within 25 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection or side line of a street or intersection highway, except at alley
[8] within 50 feet of a rail road crossing
[9] within 50 feet of a stop sign
[10] within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station. Within 75 feet on the street opposite a fire station entrance
[11] on any bridge, elevated roadway or in any tunnel
[12] next to another vehicle parked at the curb (double parking)
[13] an area where parking is prohibited by municipal ordinance.

Q-130 if you wear a safety belt and shoulder strap, how much better are you chances of serving crash?Ans. Three

to four times better than not wearing either one.

Q-131 where are the blind spots in your rearview mirror?
Ans. On the left and right sides and behind your rear window posts.

Q-132 when should you use your horn?
Ans. When passing or to get the attention of other drivers and road users.

Q-133 how far away from a turn should you signal?
Ans. At least 100 feet.

Q-134 what is the good rule for adjusting your speed in traffic?
Ans. Try to adjust the flow of traffic.

Q-135 when can you turn on red?
Ans. After a full stop when there is no sign stating “no turn on red”, but only after yielding to traffic and

pedestrians proceeding on the green light.

Q-136 what is the rule for following distances on dry roads?
Ans. Keep at least one car length back for each 10-mph speed.

Q-137 what is an acceleration lane mean?
Ans. An extra lane provided at the entrance to an expressway.

Q-138 what are the examples of suspension of a driver’s license?
Ans. [1] failure to appear in court or pay fines. [2] Failure to pay surcharge, [3] driving while suspended, [4]

failure to provide proof of insurance, [5] physical or mental disqualification, [6] drug or alcohol use, [7] repeated traffic

law violations, [8] reckless driving (without regards for life or property), [9] vehicle abandonment on a public highway,

[10] at fault in a fatal accident.

Q-139 what are the penalties for under age drunk driving (under 21 year)?
Ans. If the blood alcohol concentration (bac) is 0.01% or more, but less than 0.10%, the penalties are:
[1] 30-90 day driver license suspension if currently licensed or
[2] 30-90 day prohibition from becoming a licensed driver at 17 years, and mandatory community service for 15-30 days, and

participation in an intoxicated driver resource center or other alcohol education and highway safety program.

If the blood alcohol concentration (bac) is 0.10% or more: For first offense:
[1] 6 to 12 months license loss, $250-$400 fine, $75 per day idrc fee, $100 drunk driving fund, $100 aerf+$1000 a year for 3

years surcharge, $75 safe neighborhood services fund, up to 30 days imprisonment, 12 to 48 hours community services.

For second offense that occurs within 10 years of first offense:
[1] 2 years license loss, $500-$1000 fine, $100 per day idrc fee, $100 drunk driving fund, $100 aerf+$1000 a year for 3 years

surcharge, $75 safe neighborhood services fund, up to 48 to 90 days imprisonment, 12 to 48 hours community services.

Q-140 what are the penalties for drinking alcoholic beverages while driving/riding?
Ans. For first offense: $200 fines
For second offense: $250 fines and 10 days community services.

Q-141 what are the penalties for driving under influence with suspended license?
Ans. Additional 1 to 2 years of license suspension, $500 fines, $250 a year for 3 years surcharge, 10 to 90 days


Q-142 what are the penalties for driving without insurance?
Ans. For first offense:
1-year license loss, $300 - $1000 fine, $250 a year for 3-year surcharge, community service determined by court.
For second offense:
2 years license loss, up to $5000 fine, $250 a year for 3-year surcharge, 14 days imprisonment, 30 days comm. Serv.

Q-143 what is the penalties for driving while possessing drugs?
Ans. 2 years license loss, minimum $50 fine.

Q-144 what is the penalties for refusing to take breath test?
Ans. For first offense: six months license suspension.
For second offense: 2 years license suspension.
For repeat offenders; 10 years os license suspension.

Q-145 does New Jersey issue conditional or work licenses to people who have lost their privileges?
Ans. No.

Q-146 how often does mvs allow you to take a defensive driving course that may reduce the points on your driving

Ans. Once every five-year.

Q-147 name moving violation convictions that add two points to your driver record?
[1] using a counterfeit license, registration or insurance identification,
[2] driving on private property to avoid traffic signal or sign,
[3] failure to give way to passing vehicle,
[4] failure to observe hove lane restrictions,
[5] failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk,
[6] other moving violation,
[7] speeding 1 to 14 mph above legal limit,
[8] leaving scene of accident (property damage),
[9] more than one person on a motorized bicycle,
[10] moving violation out of state,
[11] operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway.

Q-148 Name moving violation convictions that add three points to your driver record?
Ans. improper turns.

Q-149 Name moving violation convictions that add four points to your driver record?
[1] speeding 15 to 29 mph above the legal limit
[2] speeding on njtp, garden state parkway and Atlantic City expressway
[3] in no passing zone
[4]improper passing
[5] of a frozen dessert truck
[6] on right or off roadway.

Q-150 Name moving violation convictions that add five points to your driver record?
[1] of a stopped school bus
[2] reckless driving
[3] racing on highway
[4] following too closely (tailgating)[5] speeding 30 mph or more than above legal limit.

Go For Next 50 DMV Practice Permit Test Questions

DMV Practice Permit Test Study Guide

You can find everything you need to pass your Learner's Permit or Driver's License test that includes more than driving test 500+ questions. Free and unlimited practice tests questions and answers. This Learners Permit Study Guide helps you to get ready for your Learners Permit (driving permit). Learners permit practice test prep includes traffic signs and signals questions almost identical to the real test. Get ready for your permit test today!

Please share your Test Question and Answers:

If you have gone through your Drivers Ed Course, review test and took DMV exam, and happen to remember a question and its correct answer, please scroll to the bottom of this page and use the form to add your comments.

This is not a cheat-sheet, just an aide to help you know what is the right answer.