Find answers to DMV Practice Permit test questions for your Driver's License, Learner's Permit, Motorcycle License, or Commercial License tests.

Texas Permit, Driver's License, Restrictions - Fines & Financial Facts

Documents Needed to Obtain Permit at Texas DPS


1. DL14A - Completed Application for a Texas Driver’s License

2. Certified copy of Birth Certificate

3. Original Social Security Card

4. Two proofs of residency (from the list below) in applicant’s name or the person they are living with, however that person must be present at DPS to sign an affidavit

5. $16 - Under 18 or $25 - 18 & older

6. DE964/ADE1317- Issued from the Driving School after successfully completing the first 6 hours

7. DL40- Completed Supplemental Examination Form issued from the Driving School after successfully completing the permit testing

8. High School Diploma, GED or Verification of Enrollment(VOE) from school (applicants under 18)

9. Parent/Legal Guardian (applicants under 18)

Type of restrictions on license


Find the type of restrictions may be placed on your license


A. With corrective lenses
B. LOFS age 21 or over
C. Daytime only
D. Not to exceed 45 MPH
E. No expressway driving
I. M/C not to exceed 250 cc
J. Licensed M/C Operator age 21 or over in sight
K. Moped
L. Vehicle w/o air brakes – applies to vehicles requiring CDL
M. CDL Intrastate Commerce only
P. Stated on license
Q. LOFS 21 or over vehicle above Class B
R. LOFS 21 or over vehicle above Class C
S. Outside mirror or hearing aid
T. Automatic transmission
U. Applicable prosthetic devices
V. Applicable vehicle devices
W. Power steering

Driver's License & License Related Fact


  • Your drivers license may be suspended for causing one serious accident
  • A person’s driver’s license will automatically be suspended if convicted of possessing a false driver’s license.
  • As a driver, if you refuse a test to determine the amount of alcohol in your body, your drivers license may be suspended.
  • Your driver license may be suspended for causing One serious collision
  • What is the minimum age to get a license? 16 with an approved driver education course
  • If the person is under 18, when does his provisional license expire? On their next birthday after date of issuance.
  • If your drivers license is suspended you may drive only if you gain an essential need driver’s license.
  • If a juvenile refuses the breathalyzer test, the suspension period for his driver’s license is 3 months.
  • Your drivers license may be suspended for habitual reckless driving.
  • Your license may be suspended or revoked for letting someone use your license
  • If a policeman requests you to take a test to see if you are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and you refuse, your license will be suspended for 6 months
  • When a parent signs the application of a minor for a drivers license, the parent and the teenager assume responsibility
  • An instruction permit is good for 1 year from the applicant’s next birthday
  • A provisional license is issued to a person under 18 years of age
  • The minimum age to obtain a drivers license is 16 years old


What circumstances may lead to possible loss of your license?
  • Suspension / revocation action from another state,
  • Parental authorization withdrawn,
  • voluntary surrender for medical / insurance purposes,
  • False statement on application.
  • Lending a driver license or identification card to someone else
DWI by use of alcohol or drugs, drug offense, intoxication manslaughter, intoxication assault, failure to stop and render aid, causing the death or serious injury of anyone while operating a motor vehicle, any offense punishable as a felony under the motor vehicle laws of Texas, overtaking and passing a school bus, boating while intoxicated, evading arrest, driving while license invalid, altered /unlawful use of driver license, etc.

Fines & Financial Facts


  • Proof of financial responsibility must be shown by a driver involved in an accident resulting in personal injury or property damage in excess of $1,000
  • The most a person can be fined for a 2nd conviction of driving while intoxicated is $4,000. The 1st is $2,000
  • The maximum fine for the 1st conviction of driving without a license is $200
  • A fine not to exceed $200 for driving while license invalid.
  • Possession of an open container of alcohol receives a $500 fine and a jail confinement of: 6 days.
  • The maximum fine for driving and drinking an alcoholic beverage is: $500
  • The maximum fine for a first conviction of driving without a valid driver license is $200 (1st conviction).
  • The most a person (age 21) can be fined for a first conviction of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor with no injury involved is: $2,000
  • If you are required to show financial responsibility then such proof must be kept for 2 years







Fines & Financial
proof of financial responsibility at accident injury/damage < $1,000
show financial responsibility proof kept for 2 years
1st / 2nd / 3rd DWI  offense $2,000 / $4,000 / $10,000
intoxication manslaughter or assault $10,000
drinking while driving $500
1st / 2nd DUIA by minor $500
1st conviction no driver’s license $200

DWI = Driving While Intoxicated
DUIA (by minor) = Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by minor

DMV Practice Permit Test Study Guide

You can find everything you need to pass your Learner's Permit or Driver's License test that includes more than driving test 500+ questions. Free and unlimited practice tests questions and answers. This Learners Permit Study Guide helps you to get ready for your Learners Permit (driving permit). Learners permit practice test prep includes traffic signs and signals questions almost identical to the real test. Get ready for your permit test today!

Please share your Test Question and Answers:

If you have gone through your Drivers Ed Course, review test and took DMV exam, and happen to remember a question and its correct answer, please scroll to the bottom of this page and use the form to add your comments.

This is not a cheat-sheet, just an aide to help you know what is the right answer.